31 Weeks: Cheerio Tummies and Magical Tea

31

Baby is the size of: Four navel oranges (mmmkay…)

How far along are you: 31 weeks, 1 day

What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “This week, your baby measures over 16 inches long. He or she weighs about 3.5 pounds and is heading into a growth spurt. Your baby can turn his head from side to side, and his arms, legs, and body are beginning to plump out as needed fat accumulates underneath the skin. Your little one’s kicks and somersaults may be keeping you up at night. Take comfort: All this moving is a sign that your baby is active and healthy.”

Due date: February 3rd

Sleep: Sometimes a bit harder to fall asleep as my belly has begun to itch nonstop and baby is starting to kick HARD. Not really able to make it through an entire night any longer without having to get up to pee at least once, no matter how much I restrict my liquids before bedtime.

Best moment this week: We’ve started getting some gifts off our registry — we set up the Rock ‘n Play in our room and my dad and step-mom brought over the crib mattress. And baby is still moving a TON, and pushing his limbs out all over the place. I also discovered this Third Trimester Tea that Earth Mama Angel Baby makes, and it’s a really nice cup to have before bed. It has all sorts of stuff in it to “prepare your body for labor” but it seems to have had the effect of helping to lower my fasting blood sugars. I mean, I’m not ready to jump to conclusions here and call it a scientific study, but I started drinking  it Thursday night and for the past four mornings, my levels have been between 70 and 85, whereas before they were consistently in the mid-90s. Hopefully I’m not jinxing anything here…

Worst moment this week: My belly has started itching like crazy, like a prickly stinging tingling itch that won’t go away. No stretch marks yet, but this may be a sign of things to come.

What are you looking forward to: My shower’s in just under two weeks, Christmas is in three weeks, and baby is here in about nine weeks. Holy cow!

Food cravings: Craving a lot of stuff I can’t have, like McDonald’s, Publix chocolate cake with chocolate frosting, a big ass bowl of pasta, an entire friggin’ pizza. I went to a friend’s shower this weekend and there were cake pops, cake, homemade cookies… I had salad and a few pieces of cheese.

What do you miss: Sweets. Junk food. A non-itchy belly. My pre-pregnancy clothes (I’m so sick of my maternity wardrobe and buying anything new at this point seems silly!). Fitting into my existing shoes.

Symptoms: Heartburn/reflux, back pain, mood swings, hemorrhoids, belly numbness, belly itching, constant peeing, some anxiety.

Gender: Boy

Belly button: OK, I really wish that this thing would go full out. Right now, it looks like a Cheerio — the outer edges are all pushed out and the inside is basically out, but it’s just not popping. It’s very frustrating and kinda looks like a sore (without, you know, the scabs and blood and stuff).

Ring: Off.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

