30 Weeks: Almost to the Single-Digit Countdown

Sorry about the thumb in the pic. Hi, thumb!

Baby is the size of: A head of cabbage (regular this time, not Chinese)

How far along are you: 30 weeks, 1 day

What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “Your baby’s about 15.7 inches long now, and he weighs almost 3 pounds. A pint and a half of amniotic fluid surrounds your little one, but that volume will decrease as your baby gets bigger and takes up more room in your uterus. Your baby’s eyesight continues to develop, though it’s not very keen. Even after birth, your baby will keep those little peepers closed for a good part of the day. He or she will respond to changes in light, but will have 20/400 vision and only make out objects a few inches from his or her face.”

Due date: February 3rd

Sleep: Still fine, not getting up in the middle of the night or having too much trouble falling asleep.

Best moment this week: Bean feels like he’s gone through a bit of a growth spurt recently, and is pounding away in there. I really love feeling him move around, so this is always the best moment of any week.

Worst moment this week: Starting my gestational diabetes diet and finger pricks. The diet isn’t too bad, but my stress over the test-to-test numbers is rising. Which I know isn’t healthy for me, but I can’t help it. I’m in sheer panic about what this means for labor and what it means for the baby’s health. I’m worried about needing to be induced early because of the baby’s size, and worried because I know GD babies don’t develop as quickly as other babies. I’m worried about so much right now, that it’s hard for me to stay in the positive. I feel like this whole thing has sucked the joy out of pregnancy, and I’m just bummed.

What are you looking forward to: My shower in a few weeks! Some gifts have already gone off the registry (and yes, I’m a total registry stalker — guilty pleasure).

Food cravings: Just craving the ability to have food when I want it. Going so long between meals without a snack is hard now that work has started back up again. It wasn’t a big deal at home the past few days when I could make dinner at 5, but now that we won’t be eating until 7 p.m. or later, it makes the afternoon snack crucial and leaves me starving for way longer than I’m used to. I only have to go four hours between breakfast and lunch, with a snack in between. The stretch between lunch and dinner is seven-plus hours, with a snack in between, leaving me almost four hours with no food and no ability to eat another snack because it might raise my blood sugar.

What do you miss: A relatively stress-free pregnancy. Sweets. Soda.

Symptoms: Heartburn/reflux, back pain, mood swings, hemorrhoids, belly numbness.

Gender: Boy

Belly button: Almost completely out now.

Ring: Off.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

