29 Weeks: Or, Crabby Without Cupcakes

 

Baby is the size of: A butternut squash

How far along are you: 29 weeks, 1 day

What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “Your baby now weighs about 2 1/2 pounds and is a tad over 15 inches long from head to heel. Muscles and lungs are continuing to mature, and your baby’s head is growing bigger to make room for that developing brain. To meet your baby’s increasing nutritional demands, you’ll need plenty of protein, vitamin C, folic acid, and iron. And because his bones are soaking up lots of calcium, be sure to drink your milk. This trimester, about 250 milligrams of calcium are deposited in your baby’s hardening skeleton each day.”

Due date: February 3rd

Sleep: Still seem to be doing OK, but more frequent middle-of-the-night bathroom breaks.

Best moment this week: Our childbirth class was this weekend, and it was pretty cool. The instructor made the 8-hour crash course aspect of it as bearable as possible, though I was still falling asleep near the end. We learned some breathing techniques, different massages Mister Mister can do to help relieve pain (pressing on my hips and lower back while I’m bent over) in early labor, pain management options, when a c-section might be necessary, and some other things to expect that I was unclear on and Mister Mister certainly benefited from as well. The only issue was that it made me pretty freaked out about an epidural, but we’ll see how I feel once I get there.

Worst moment this week: Totally failed my one-hour glucose test by one point. I had to take the three-hour test last Friday, which honestly wasn’t as bad as I was expected, but still wasn’t fun. And then I found out today that I do have gestational diabetes. I have to visit a diabetes nurse and get a meal plan to minimize my blood sugars, and a glucometer to test my blood sugar several times a day. The doctor essentially said diet and walking should keep it under control, but if it doesn’t, I’ll need to start injecting insulin as well. It was a huge bummer and kind of made me feel like a failure, especially when they told me that I’m too fat (well they didn’t really say that, but that’s what I heard). I’m not going to lie, it sucks being told you can’t eat whatever you want while you’re pregnant. But I also don’t want a huge hypoglycemic baby with health issues, so I’ll absolutely do what it takes. But worst moment of the week? Try worst moment of the whole pregnancy.

What are you looking forward to: Invites are out for my shower, so that’s the next big thing we’re looking forward to! Oh, and Thanksgiving. It’s seriously my favorite time of the entire year.

Food cravings: Thanksgiving goodies like broccoli casserole, dinner rolls, mashed potatoes, stuffing, French silk pie… all stuff I’m really not supposed to have.

What do you miss: Life without hemorrhoids. I call him Lloyd.

Symptoms: Heartburn/reflux, back pain, mood swings, hemorrhoids, a weird numb and tingly strip at the top of my belly that the doctor says is due to muscles stretching from a growing uterus.

Gender: Boy

Belly button: Even more out than last week!

Ring: Off.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

