27 Weeks: Third Trimester and a Shot in the Butt

 

Baby is the size of: The head of a cauliflower

How far along are you: 27 weeks, 1 day

What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “This week, your baby weighs almost 2 pounds and is about 14 1/2 inches long with legs extended. He is sleeping and waking at regular intervals, opening and closing those little eyes, and perhaps even sucking on his fingers. With even more brain tissue developing, your baby’s brain is very active now. The lungs are still immature, but they would be capable of functioning — with a lot medical help — if your baby were to be born now. Chalk up any tiny rhythmic movements you may be feeling to a case of baby hiccups, which may be common from now on. Each episode usually lasts only a few moments, and they don’t bother your baby, so just relax and enjoy the tickle.” OK, if you say so!

Due date: February 3rd

Sleep: Friday and Saturday I was not at all tired until like 3 in the morning. I was really worried I was entering the insomniac stage, but on Friday around 1 a.m. I realized I had ordered an egg nog chai tea latte from Starbucks at 6, and while I only got a tall, I haven’t drank coffee or much other caffeine the entire pregnancy. Saturday, I took a two-hour nap, so that may be what kept me up Saturday night (though naps don’t usually affect my later sleep, at least in pregnancy). Otherwise, just the usual tough to get comfortable, restless leg stuff.

Best moment this week: Mostly finished the nursery! We put together the bookcase, hung the rest of the art and the one remaining decal, and finished the mobile. Now we just have the light switch cover and some baseball bobbleheads to order for decoration, plus the changing pad and mattress/crib sheets that I’m waiting until my shower to see if we receive. Not to toot my own horn, but it looks so good! I posted some nursery progress shots last week, and will post the finished product once everything is 100% complete. Plus it looks like the chiropractor is really doing me good, because I can actually walk most days and only have the vaguest amount of pain in my left hip! Yay!

Worst moment this week: Getting a shot in the butt yesterday at my 27-week appointment. It didn’t hurt as much as I anticipated it would, but it did ache for a while afterwards. I had to get a RhoGAM shot because my blood type is Rh-, so if Mister Mister is Rh+, the baby might be Rh+. That means that during birth, when you get some baby blood in you, your blood stream can become sensitized to the Rh factor and will attack future Rh+ cells — which is not good for any future pregnancies you might be planning. Also, I’ve had several people this week ask me if oh my gosh am I having twins because they can’t believe I’m so big and still have 3 months to go, or comment that I must be just about ready to pop at any moment. Assholes.

What are you looking forward to: On Saturday, we”ll be touring the hospital where I’m delivering, and the following Saturday is our birth class (8 hours! Yikes…). Then it’s Thanksgiving! I should have the results of my one-hour glucose test back that week, which is when I have my next doctor’s appointment, and I’m really hoping I pass. If I don’t pass, I’ll have to do a three-hour test, and I’m not sure if the doctor’s going to ask me to restrict my diet in the meantime, and with Thanksgiving being my favorite holiday ever because of the FOOD, that would not be pleasant news.

Food cravings: Nothing in particular right now, just lots of everything.

What do you miss: Being able to bend over without much grunting and sighing.

Symptoms: Heartburn, hip and back pain, mood swings, exhaustion, some swelling, possibly insomnia, some queasiness, hot flashes.

Gender: Boy

Belly button: It’s starting to crater out either one side or another, depending on how he’s laying. I’ve also noticed it really hurts a lot when he’s pressed up against it!

Ring: On, if you count “on” as being “on a chain around my neck.” And of course, I’m paranoid that now everybody who sees me things I’m an unwed mother. Not that there’s anything wrong with that… but to the type of people who might notice, there is, and I hate being judged. I just want to scream to everybody, “I’m married, but my fingers are too fat!!!”

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

