24 Weeks: Viability and Sore Sleeping

Hey look, it’s the first time I don’t have something solid and dark on. Branching out!

Baby is the size of: An ear of corn

How far along are you: 24 weeks, 1 day

What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “Your baby’s growing steadily, having gained about 4 ounces since last week. That puts him at just over a pound. Since your baby is almost a foot long, he cuts a pretty lean figure at this point. But your baby’s body is filling out proportionally and it will soon start to plump up. His brain is growing quickly now, and taste buds are continuing to develop. Your baby’s lungs are developing ‘branches’ of the respiratory ‘tree’ as well as cells that produce surfactant, a substance that will help air sacs in the lungs inflate once your baby hits the outside world. His skin is still thin and translucent, but that will start to change soon.”

Due date: February 3rd

Sleep: I’m not having any trouble falling asleep per se, nor staying asleep. There have been moments where I wake up suddenly wide awake around 4 or 5, but I drift off fairly quickly. My main issue has been getting comfortable while trying to go to sleep, and not waking up in searing pain. I have what my midwife said was sciatica, or what could be pelvic girdle pain, on my left side. Whatever it is, I call it “horrific,” especially considering that in the grand scheme of things, I’m not that big yet. Anyway, that means that the preferred preggo sleeping position is really not working for me right now. I had some mild success last night on my righthand side, though.

Best moment this week: We had one last surprise ultrasound, as my midwife wanted to make sure my cervical measurements were still looking good. While we were in there, the tech let us peek at the baby again. I know they say ultrasounds are terrible and that you’re subjecting your baby to loud noises or whatever. But I just love seeing him, and we were able to kind of make out his face! Also learned that after 4 weeks, he’s still head down (as evidenced as well by the kicks in the upper right and punches in the upper left — he’s a Kenpo star).

Worst moment this week: Definitely the butt, hip, and back pain that’s been going on. I landed upon a strange but really comfy sleep position Sunday night, but sadly it left me in near traction on Monday. It was hard to walk and made me break out in tears since we still have three-and-a-half more months to go.

What are you looking forward to: Our bookcase and crib have shipped, so we’re just waiting for a call from the local delivery service to scheduled a time. Our dresser is being delivered on Friday, and our glider should be in any day now. Our next doctor’s appointment is November 5 (incidentally, our one-year wedding anniversary), and my shower is scheduled for December 16. Lots of things to look forward to — but most of all, this baby’s due in three-and-a-half months!! That doesn’t sound like that long at ALL.

Food cravings: Ice cream. Tacos. Milano Melts (I picked up a bag as an impulse buy and ate 8 of them yesterday. EIGHT. That is DISGUSTING).

What do you miss: Pain-free sleeping, walking, sitting, lounging around. Being able to buy whatever clothes were cute instead of having to stick to maternity wear (although it is cute, as well).

Symptoms: Sciatica/pelvic pain/whatever. Heartburn. Mister Mister pointed out that I get sleep marks a lot more easily now when laying around, so that’s probably a byproduct of the fluid retention and extra blood volume I’ve got going on. Swollen ankles. Easily out of breath. Round ligament pain.

Gender: Boy

Belly button: Still in.

Rings: Still on, but looking kinda sad.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

