Friday Five: Randoms on a Hot October Day

Seriously, does it seem like it should ever be 83 degrees on October 12? Florida makes me want to stab my eyes out and make ice cubes out of them.

But onto more inspiring things.

1. This list of the 100 books every English-speaking child should know

Termed the “kindergarten canon,” this list by Michael Petrelli, executive VP of the Thomas B. Fordham Institute, created a list of books that must be known to every English-speaking child. Without it, they would miss myriad cultural references. I have to admit, I haven’t even heard of many of these! I must really be missing out. But since it’s important for Mister Mister and I to build up Bean’s library, since we’re both avid readers and have been since we were wee ones, this is a very good list to keep in mind.

2. This wallpaper

From Mr. Perswall’s “Expressions” collection of wallpaper, this drippy abstract print would be so stunning on an accent wall in a library, dining room, studio, bathroom… OK, really any room.

Image via Apartment Therapy

3. This sexy navy blue dining room

This is dead sexy. I may have a bit of an overdone crush on navy blue right now — seeing as how our master bedroom and reading room both boast dark blue walls and our nursery is using navy and white for an entire color scheme — but this is just so sophisticated, and the nailhead trim on the chairs and the wall is just… ugh. Love.

Image from Nuevo Estilo via Eclechic

4. These Restoration Hardware mirrors

Shut up. Just, shut up right now. These trompe l’oeil birdcage mirrors are a whopping $199 (for the small one) or $219 (for the bigger one), but are just amazing. They’re featured in Restoration Hardware’s Baby & Child collection, but I could see them anywhere, not just in a nursery or kid’s room.

5. This floor-to-ceiling gallery wall

Just a stunning a personal way to dress up those odd strips of vertical wall space in your house that typically house nothing but an odd arrangement of thermostat, light switch, and outlets. I love how they used different frames in all the same color and a consistent palette for best results. I would love to try something like this in our house, but I fear we might have too many gallery walls as it is. Is there such a thing?

So how hot is it where you are? Don’t even bother to respond if it’s cooler than 75 degrees.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: Randoms on a Hot October Day

  1. jennyinarizona says:

    Ha ha I live in Arizona, so I totally feel you. Today we’re having a rare day of actual nice weather. currently 71 degrees. However! Yesterday it was a high of 91, the day before was 94, etc. The last day of being 100 or more was last week – 10/4 LOL

    As for the books, I’ve only heard of the first two LOL oops!

  2. Gretchen says:

    Found your blog searching for Benjamin Moore’s Marine Blue, but I think you’ve inadvertently talked me into Newburg Green instead 😉 (although I like them both; I think I want the extra gray). Anyway, enjoying your blog! I’m in GA….it’s 61 right now, but that’s because it’s night. 74 tomorrow.

    • capellett says:

      Do it! Newburg Green is a great color – Marine Blue just happened to work better in our bedroom! I firmly believe you can’t go wrong with Benjamin Moore colors 🙂

Leave a Reply

