Halfway Through: Pregnancy Progress Pictures

You know how the super-cute, crafty, energetic bloggers take the time to make signs denoting how far along they are in pregnancy, wear the same thing every week, and shoot a beautiful photo in awesome lighting in their gorgeous home to show the progress their growing belly is making? Well, I do that too.

Except I make no sign, wear what I want, and shoot a photo in my workplace bathroom on Mondays, solely so I can assure myself I am, indeed, getting bigger.

Since I hit the halfway mark last week, it’s struck me just how much farther I have to go. The baby is 21 weeks old and weighs 3/4 of a pound. Somehow, in the next 19 weeks, he’s got to get to 8ish pounds. Obv his growth rate starts picking up here pretty soon — the doctor told me in the last month, he’ll be adding half a pound a week. Which means my growth rate will be picking up, too.

Thankfully, I’ve been fairly comfortable — no tremendous back pain or swollen feet, though I do get a bit stiff in my office chair by midday. What I do have is this tremendous dull pain in my right butt cheek. Some say it’s sciatica, some say it’s something called SPD where your pelvis basically gapes open to the point where walking and sitting feels like nuclear warfare. I say it feels like I hit the stairmaster too hard, and if it feels like this when the baby is only 3/4 of a pound, I’m surely in for a treat.

So just how big have I gotten?

Big enough.

Well, let’s just say if I’m worried people will just think I’m fat, I’ve got another thing coming.

I stole this from another blogger:

Baby is the size of: A mango
How far along are you: 21 weeks, 3 days
What’s happening with baby: From Babycenter, “Your baby now weighs about three-quarters of a pound and is approximately 10 1/2 inches long — the length of a carrot. You may soon feel like he or she is practicing martial arts as initial fluttering movements turn into full-fledged kicks and nudges. You may also discover a pattern to your baby’s activity as you get to know him or her better. In other developments, your baby’s eyebrows and lids are present now, and if you’re having a girl, her vagina has begun to form.” <– Mister Mister gagged when I read him that last sentence and said he’s so glad we’re having a boy. Yes, he’s mature enough to have a kid. Also, I’m well aware I’ve just opened myself up to some questionable search engine traffic.
Due date: February 3rd
Maternity clothes: I’ve been in nearly 100% maternity clothes since about 8 weeks along. The only exception are a few Target t-shirts that are long enough to fit over the bump and over my maternity jean panel (but not for long) and a baggy dress I usually belt, that I wore yesterday with leggings.
Sleep: I pretty much can’t get enough of it. If I don’t get in bed by 8 or 9 AT THE VERY LATEST, the next day I’m taking office-chair naps. Actually, even then I still have to take an afternoon office-chair nap, but if I go to bed later, it’s morning and afternoon nod-offs. I’m still falling asleep OK and sleeping through the night except for one point where I usually have to get up and pee. Yes, I’m enjoying it while I can.
Best moment this week: I’ve been feeling the baby move a lot more and actually felt some solid kicks. He’s still not big or strong enough to where I can feel him from the outside, and I still can’t really tell what exactly the movements are. All I know is it feels either like I swallowed a live goldfish, or I’m having serious muscle spasms.
What are you looking forward to: Hitting 24 weeks. That’s the point of viability, and even though it’s still a nightmare if the baby is born that early, at least I can sort of maybe relax about that part. We had a scary moment last weekend where I thought I was leaking amniotic fluid, but thankfully, it was just urine. (Yeah, that’s a statement I thought I’d never make — I’m so glad I’m peeing myself at 20 weeks pregnant.) Also, visiting some daycares soon so we can get the infant care piece of the puzzle ironed out.
Food cravings: Mexican food and hamburgers. All the time.
Food/smell aversions: Nothing really, though I’m not super excited about salads or chicken like I used to be. I chalk it up to having a ball of testosterone growing in my uterus.
What do you miss: Being able to eat tomato soup, drink orange juice, etc. without getting crippling acid reflux. Coffee. Diet soda. Being able to bend over without having to squat, grunt, and possibly pee myself. Sleeping on my back without worrying if I’m killing my baby.
Symptoms: That gnarly butt/tailbone pain, oily skin (way more than usual, if that’s to be believed [I hardly believe it myself]), heartburn/reflux, round ligament pain, some gas but not as bad as in weeks prior, hemorrhoids, peeing myself. If this kid ever tells me he hates me, I’m drop kicking him into the next county.
Gender: Team blue!
Belly button: Really weird looking. Not out, but shallow and tiny. It feels weird.
Rings: On, but certainly no longer loose.

In other news, we finally have painters at our house currently working on transforming the remainder of our home into my chosen color scheme. We chose Benjamin Moore’s Covington Gray for the nursery, which strangely I can’t seem to find on their website, even though the painter had no trouble getting it.

And in still other news, we might have termites in our TV stand, and half the lights in our house went out last night (though all our sockets work). So we have an electrician coming today or tomorrow.

This is what we get for enjoying 4 boring weeks without some sort of home failure.

Leave a Reply

