Wrapped Around Your Finger: Exit Music

As the DJ played our last few songs, I saw MIL Ladyfingers going around the deck, passing out our farewell bells. I didn’t really think much of it, until our catering manager went rushing after her, intoning, “Nonononononoooo!” I guess she’d seen the trays of bells and just thought it would be nice to hand them out to people.

Eventually, though, it really was time to ring our bells as we left the venue. Our farewell bells. As in, farewell, because we’re married… and the wedding, it’s over. Just like that!

It wasn’t until I saw these pictures that I realized we didn’t even really make our big exit together! Apparently Mr. Ladyfingers got caught up talking to his mom on the way down — and I was too self-absorbed to wait!

How do you plan to make your big exit?

Photos by Shorts Shots Photography

We made final preparations, visited with family members, rehearsed, and ate a miniature Mr. Ladyfingers

The girls and I got gussied up and headed out to the venue

I got all verklempt, the people took their places, and I waited quietly, alone

We kinda got a little married

We stood for portraits

We twirled together as man and wife to the most perfect song there is

We ate, toasted, cut cake, and prepared to party

We had some musically heartfelt moments with our parents

We partied like it was 1999

Somebody caught my garter with their mouth

Leave a Reply

