#WEverb11 #2: Listen

What song did you listen to in 2011 to completely change your mood? Think about ways you can incorporate more music into your life in 2012.

I listen to music for lots of reasons — to calm down. To pep up. To remind me of moments. For pure entertainment. To sing along. To dance weird and make my husband wonder why on earth he married me after all. But when I think about music in 2011, I always think of Arcade Fire’s “Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)”

They heard me singing and they told me to stop,
Quit these pretentious things and just punch the clock,
These days, my life, I feel it has no purpose,
But late at night the feelings swim to the surface.
Cause on the surface the city lights shine,
They’re calling at me, “come and find your kind.”

Arcade Fire was always one of those bands I wanted to like but just couldn’t get there. They had their moments, but mostly I just couldn’t access it. But I found “The Suburbs” to be such an outstanding album, I wonder why I didn’t like them all along.

Sometimes I wonder if the world’s so small,
That we can never get away from the sprawl,
Living in the sprawl,
Dead shopping malls rise like mountains beyond mountains,
And there’s no end in sight,
I need the darkness someone please cut the lights.

This song cheers me up beyond belief. The bop of the tune, her joyful voice singing so passionately, the way the music just builds and builds with layers in between… I have definitely, most certainly danced weird to this song far too many times.

We rode our bikes to the nearest park,
Sat under the swings, we kissed in the dark,
We shield our eyes from the police lights,
We run away, but we don’t know why,
And like a mirror these city lights shine,
They’re screaming at us, “we don’t need your kind.”

Yet for me, music has been shamefully absent in 2011. I discovered Mumford and Song (I’m kind of a late bloomer) and a few other acts that really caught my ear, but it wasn’t filled with the frenzied buying and burning and mixing of years past. For a kid who seriously made a scrapbook of Kurt Cobain as a tribute after he died and wrote a 9-page fan letter to Eddie Vedder… this just won’t do.

So for 2012, I’m pledging to find one new act I just adore each month. To play their stuff until I get sick of it, and share it with my friends until I wonder why their taste is so bad that they don’t like any of my music. To try to crawl into the songs and replay them over and over because I couldn’t crawl deep enough. I hope to find another “Sprawl II” in 2012.

What song did you turn to in 2011 to change the way you felt?

Today’s prompt brought to you by Bella of Bella on the Beach. Check out her blog!

I’m participating in WEverb11! To join in, visit http://www.weverb11.com/ for more information and daily prompts.

One thought on “#WEverb11 #2: Listen

  1. auntiekim says:

    Love this. I’m a wee bit obsessed with AF’s Wasted Hours. Not sure what it is about that song, but I can listen on endless repeat.

Leave a Reply

