#WEVerb 11 #1: One Word

Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why. Imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

The word surged forth, and I couldn’t think of any other to describe the last 11 months: My word is for 2011 is new.

I started the year uncertain about my career, fearing the worst. My company’s local office had closed at the end of 2010, leaving me as a work-at-home employee with frequent commutes to the Denver headquarters. I was working with an almost entirely new staff – and not always gracefully.

Then, in a matter of days, everything changed. I had been applying for jobs far and wide for months, with hardly a peep back. One random day in March, I received a phone call from a woman at a staffing agency who had found my resume on a job search site I didn’t remember using. She had a colleague at a different staffing agency trying to fill a local job. I had two phone interviews with him before he passed me to the CMO at a small technology company nearby. I had two phone interviews with him before I was offered a position making nearly 40% more than what I was making before, with an actual office, an in-town commute, and as a member of the small staff I preferred.

Then, within another few weeks, that CMO had been let go, making me the marketing department.

It happened so quickly, I barely had time to worry – but worry I did, since it’s my nature. Was this the right step? Should I stay in my misery a little longer? What if I hated it? What if I got laid off right away? None of these things were any worse than what I was already facing where I was, but change is hard sometimes. I am beyond grateful today that I took that plunge, as I’ve found a place where I fit and a new direction in my career that leads to growth and new skills.

And a synopsis of 2011 would not be complete without the biggest change of all: On November 5th, I married my perfect match after two-and-a-half years of dating. The day was perfect, more perfect than my 11 months of planning could have ever anticipated, and flew by in a flash. Today, I tucked my brand-new driver’s license in my wallet – new name, new (long overdue) photo – and faced the day as a Mrs.

What word would I like to use this time next year to describe 2012? Growth. We’d like to start trying to conceive. We’d like to start searching for a house of our own, and end the year as homeowners – and perhaps soon-to-be parents. Nobody knows what the future holds, least of all myself, but no matter whether these dreams come true sooner, later, or never, I can always hope for growth.

What word would you use for 2011? What would you like to use at the end of 2012?

I’m participating in WEverb11! To join in, visit http://www.weverb11.com/ for more information and daily prompts.

One thought on “#WEVerb 11 #1: One Word

  1. Wow! Sounds like a lovely year of New-Ness and hooray for looking toward 2012 with such an open spirit!

    Looking forward to getting to know you via #reverb11!

Leave a Reply

