…With Bells On

It was ironic (or was it?) that BM Esquire proclaimed she would be at our latest crafternoon “with bells on” – because pretty much all we did was craft up these darn farewell bells. I’m a bad, bad bee because I didn’t take any pictures that afternoon, but all you need to know is that we devoured an entire grapefruit-sized cheeseball between three of us, ate about 6 cupcakes (including frosting out of the canister), and produced about 2.3 boxes of farewell bells. It was a success… on so many levels.

I pretty much ganked this idea from Kathleen at Twig and Thistle, via Style Me Pretty. To avoid the “all-night-bell-ringing” predicament, these will be handed out at the end of the night to guests, so they can ring them as we leave the reception.

Materials

  • 4 boxes of 24 ct. Darice Silver Bells Favors ($9.99 per is a little steep, but I bought them on sale for $4 and some change)
  • Several spools of Offray single face satin ribbon in French Pink (and it still wasn’t enough to fully complete this project…)
  • Cardstock and a design of your choosing
  • Some scissors
  • A paper cutter
  • My fave, Glossy Accents adhesive

I designed my little “ring the bell for a fond farewell” in Word and laid them out in strips, so I could easily cut them out. I used my little Fiskars paper cutter to slice them into 1″ strips, and then again, sliced in half so they were like, 4″ long.

The bells came with some basic silver thread and a little generic tag on them, so I cut those off and replaced the thread with my pink ribbon… and then I spent all night trying to figure out the best way to attach the tag. Should I wrap it around the ribbon as if the ribbon was a handle – like Kathleen did in the inspiration project? Should I punch two holes in the tag and weave the ribbon through? Should I just forget this whole stupid project and take a nap? Then I stumbled upon the solution… totally by accident.

Wow, so that’s blurry… yeah, sorry. I tied the ends of the ribbon together, leaving a knot about a third of the way down… stuck both ends of the ribbon through the hole in the tag… and wrapped each one around the tag, gluing in the back. So, since I suck at tying knots (except for the one I’ll be tying in November [see what I did there?]) this kinda ends up looking like a bow anyway.

 The back… blur city, and Mr. LF scooted off to Maryland this weekend with the camera so… sorry, no re-do’s 😦

Then I just notch the end of the tag, and – ta-da! Farewell bells, Ladyfingahs style.

Only, now I’ve unwittingly added another item to my shopping list: a tray or container of some sort, so the headwaiter can properly hand these out at the end of the night. Ideas?

*All personal photos

2 thoughts on “…With Bells On

  1. […] some time now about how our serving staff should hand out bells at the end of the evening – the farewell bells that guests will use to signal our exit from the reception and our trek back to our wedding-night […]

  2. […] a couple of short weeks ago, I AGONIZED over what to use to hand out our farewell bells at the end of the night. I scoured websites. I took one too many trips to Home Goods. I finally came […]

Leave a Reply

