Do You Like to Do It Yourself?

In the beginning, I was all about DIY. I was going to design and print my own invitations, make my own wooden-peg-people cake topper, tackle countless decor projects, make memorable and unique programs, and — most notoriously — do alllll the flowers myself.

This list has graciously thinned out over the past few months, as I come to my senses (Mr. Ladyfingers is doing a happy dance) and realize that there are talented people out there, way better equipped than I am to do many a thing, and who are not distracted by the many facets of wedding planning (unless they themselves are getting married or have a day job as a DOC, both of which are totally plausible) while trying to painstakingly paint my headpiece on a clothespin or make 542 little paper garland balls.

Basically, Etsy is my BFF. Here are some of the most recent adorable awesome things I’ve found and plan to order in the months to come. Perhaps you’ll find some items for your own totally awesome semi-DIY wedding day.

Wedding topper

I perused some book about handmade weddings in the hazy days after the engagement, and decided I would make my own cake topper. Um… yeah, no thanks. I’m leaning toward the adorable customized wooden-peg-people option, but also love the vintage cake topper idea as well.

Custom cake topper by peanutbutterbandit

Custom cake topper by peanutbutterbandit

Vintage cake topper from BunnyRabbitVintage

Vintage cake topper from BunnyRabbitVintage

Guestbook
I totally wasn’t going to do a guestbook, and instead wanted to do one of those charming “write your well-wishes on a card and put it in this box for bride and groom to ooh and aah over in the years to come.” But then I decided that with a birdcage card box and the additional need to find a “guestbook” box, get a bajillion little pieces of cardstock — because index cards wouldn’t do, oh no – and arrange the whole setup in a sensical way… it would drive me nuts. Then, finding totally beautiful wonderful guestbooks on Etsy sealed the deal for me: this would also be outsourced.

Silver Wrapped Canary Dahlia guestbook by RedOtter

Silver Wrapped Canary Dahlia guestbook by RedOtter

Chateau Laurier guestbook by YeLLoLiLy

Chateau Laurier guestbook by YeLLoLiLy

Return address stamp
This was always a plan: a custom return address stamp. I found so many lovelies! But here is what we finally settled on, and what’s currently on its way to our home.

Custom wood-handle rubber return address stamp by NoteTrunk

Custom wood-handle rubber return address stamp by NoteTrunk

Attire

I have no words.

Lace bridal shrug by alexbridal

Lace bridal shrug by alexbridal

Signage

Who doesn’t want a totally charming vintage-style sign to hold up in your wedding photos and use in your thank you notes? NOBODY doesn’t want that. In other words, everybody wants it… right? I can think of no better such signs than these:

Mr. and Mrs./Thank You Signs by pertyfultings

Mr. and Mrs./Thank You signs by pertyfultings

So there ya have it – I am sure I’ll fall even farther down the rabbit hole as the days continue to tick away and more amazing crafty goodness comes my way (stop reading wedding blogs! STOPIT!). But for now I am quivering in anticipation of placing my orders over the next few months and including these vendors’ wares in our wedding!

What pretty things have you found on Etsy for your wedding? What was your experience with the vendors you used – and have you used any of the vendors above?

Leave a Reply

