A Hands Off Approach to Wedding-Day Beauty (or, Don’t Be So Picky)

The vendors have been selected, and the down payments all made. The dress has been purchased and is sitting in Bridesmaid Esquire’s closet. The makeup and hair artist has been booked. My workout routine and better-eating regimen has definitely given me a body I am happy about.

There’s just one itty, wittle problem.

Picky nails

Personal photo… obviously.

Yeah. My hands.

(Warning: potentially nauseau-inducing detail below, depending on your level of squeamishness)

See, I have this nasty habit of picking at the skin around my nails and my cuticles. I do it without even noticing. This photo was taken a pretty good day, actually, but when I get nervous or stressed out (like, oh, how I’ll be more and more over the next five months?), I pick and pick and often get bleedy parts and scabs around my nail beds.

Gross.

I’ve tried the tricks: Putting stuff on my nails that tastes gross (only works for nail-biters, and while I do bite the skin, too, I’m not above just picking with my nails). Getting manicures (I just ruin them without regard for how pretty they look or how much I spent on them). Sitting on my hands. Short of wearing mittens until the big day, I’m at a loss.

My bridesmaids have suggested I get a manicure a couple of days before, but I don’t see how that can help. If I’ve been going at it pre-manicure, my fingers will already look like Freddy Krueger got a hold of them by the time I actually get my nails did. So right now I’m trying to stay hands off about it. It’s hit or miss.

 

Did you have any physically damaging bad habits pre-wedding? Did you successfully curtail them, at least until after you were married? How?

One thought on “A Hands Off Approach to Wedding-Day Beauty (or, Don’t Be So Picky)

  1. […] I’ve talked about these. These are a problem. I can’t stop mangling my nails and cuticles. Stop the insanity! […]

Leave a Reply

