Gonna Dress You Up In My Love

I had a general sense of what I’d like my wedding gown to look like by the time Mr. Ladyfingers popped the question.

Haha, just kidding. I had no clue, as evidenced by the array of photos I saved in the early days.

Mon Cheri Bridal 25274 (Amelia)

Mon Cheri Bridal Style 25274 – The Amelia

David's Bridal Two-in-One Organza Fit and Flare Gown

David’s Bridal Two-in-One Organza Fit and Flare Gown

Aria Dress Style 161FA

Aria Dress Style 161A

For years and years and YEARS, I had my Perfect Wedding Gown all fixed in my head. It was based on a picture of a Vera Wang dress I’d once seen in an issue of Glamour, or Vogue, long ago. It was A-line, with an off-the-shoulder neckline, and no beading, glitter, or lace. Simple.

Aria Style 121FB

Not the dress… but close

Aria Dress

Then, in the year or so before we became engaged (what? You know you’ve done it too… don’t judge), I fell in love with a little shop called J.Crew.

J.Crew Cotton Cady Erica Gown

 J. Crew – Cotton Cady Erica Gown

J.Crew Lace-Trim Stephanie Gown

J. Crew – Lace-Trim Stephanie Gown

J.Crew Streamer Gown

J. Crew – Streamer Gown

But there I was, with nothing like a Vera Wang budget. Not even something close to a J.Crew budget. I toyed with the idea of doing a white sundress, but Mr. Ladyfingers said no way – I deserved a wedding gown (awww…). I even looked at secondhand shops. I think it was because 2 years earlier, I’d been at a consignment store, and saw the most bee-yoo-tiful, must-have-cost-an-arm-and-a-leg wedding dress for like, $250.

I knew I might fall in love with something I couldn’t afford at a real boutique that carried real designers. So I trekked myself over to Alfred Angelo about 2 weeks after the engagement. It was a rainy Sunday; I met Bridesmaid Esquire there. I wasn’t planning on buying a dress.

But I did.

I went in there with these criteria:

  • NO bling. No beading, glitter, metallic thread, or likeness of any of the above.
  • NO corset. I didn’t like the look, and certainly didn’t like it for me.
  • NO strapless. Which, as many of you might know, is darn near impossible.
  • White. Pure, untouched white.
  • If not totally pure untouched white, then a lace overlay would be divine.

I chose my dress and paid half for it that very day, and received it just one month later. It’s been hanging in the closet at Ma.’s apartment for the past three months, but will soon be transferred to Bridesmaid Spotlight’s house as Esquire plans a move to a house with potentially much less closet space.

What did I end up with that day? Aw, wouldn’t you like to know. I’ll give you a hint, though: What I chose surprised even myself.

2 thoughts on “Gonna Dress You Up In My Love

  1. […] vendors have been selected, and the down payments all made. The dress has been purchased and is sitting in Bridesmaid Esquire’s closet. The makeup and hair artist has been booked. My […]

  2. […] the wedding, we made them quick and dirty and didn’t look back. This includes everything from my dress to most of our vendors. It excludes our color scheme, which changed twice, and most of our decor. […]

Leave a Reply

