Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Turns out I’m really bad at sticking to things that I love. I push myself hard on the difficult stuff, and abandon the enjoyable things.

Like, for instance, blogging.

Last time, I started to cover all the wonderful things happening in the world of wedding planning: the venue, the dress, the officiant, the DJ. Since then, we’ve also booked our caterer (estimated cost: $5100 for a five-course buffet; coffee and iced tea; all rentals including table service, linens, and chairs; and services comparable to those of a wedding planner, with a very concrete “give it to us and forget about it.” I’d say it’s money well-spent just for that alone!).

AND… we did our engagement photos and I picked up and paid off my dress!

Our favorite engagement shot

Did I mention just how much we loooooooove our photographer! Such a sweetie, and so talented – and a great price, to boot! I also secured the hair and makeup (estimated cost: $260 for airbrush makeup and hair styling) and we booked our room block for out-of-town guests. Another friend offered to give us her employee rate for an awesome room overlooking the Gulf on our wedding night. Wahoo!!! And tomorrow, I meet with a friendor to start the invitations.

I guess you could say we’re really rocking and rolling.

One of the most exciting pieces of news to come out over the past couple of months, however, is …

drum roll

I GOT A NEW JOB!

If you know me personally, you’d know that I’ve had ups and downs for the past 2 years at my current job, which I’ve held for 5 years in this position, 6 total with the company. I’ve been through a lot there. I hit some very rough patches through which my boss hung onto me , when he very well could have let me go. I was promoted twice, and given raises that I didn’t even ask for. I was given an office (my very first, so it was a big deal to me) and began supervising people. I hit my professional stride. We won awards. It’s been awesome.

But I started to get that itch a couple of years ago, and have been looking on and off since then. I would apply to things that sounded appealing here and there, and even got a few interviews. But, much to my frustration, nothing panned out.

Then, a couple of weeks ago, I got a phone call from a staffing agency that had gotten ahold of my resume and wanted to put me in front of the CMO of a local firm looking for a marketing manager. Not being familiar with the whole staffing agency setup, seeing as how I last secured a new job wayyyyy pre-recession, I at first thought it was  a scam. Then I thought it was too good to be true. But in the span of a week and a half, I had a telephone interview, a face-to-face interview with the CMO and CEO, and was offered a position making a good chunk more, with plenty of responsibility and lots of fun new stuff to do and learn. Oh! And an incredibly spiffy office to go to every day, with natural light everywhere and tons of plants and fancy chairs.

Yeah, I’m pretty superficial, because that last part is definitely the most exciting 🙂

I put in my notice with my boss yesterday, and it went really well. He’s trying to keep me, but it’s time to move on. I will say it’s extremely gratifying to have him fight for me, and it really shows me how far I’ve come there. Four years ago, he might not have tried so hard. I’m so grateful to be able to leave on good terms (and, with the economy today, on good terms).

It’s also amazing to me that I’ve gotten such a good job when I already have such a good job, in this market, without even having applied to this new position! Two years ago, somebody told me to write down all the characteristics of my dream job and put it out into the universe. I listed, among other things, plenty of responsibility with the freedom to bring up my own ideas, no managing others, plenty of writing, better pay, and a nice office. It included things I already had at my soon-to-be-former employer, and some I didn’t. Over the past couple of years, more things have been added to that list – a small company, a laid back environment, stability and diversification. I can safely say that this new position includes almost everything on that list – and it only took two years for the “universe” to respond. As a friend said last night, two years may seem a long time to me, but it’s a blink of the eye in the scheme of things.

Thanks, friend 🙂

If I had seen this job posting, I wouldn’t have applied to it in a million years. I would have judged any number of things about it and me – it called for a minimum of an associate’s, so it probably doesn’t pay well. It asks for experience in a number of programs and services I have no experience in. It’s in marketing, and even though I feel like my experience would play very well into that role, no employers think that. I would have totally sold myself short. But at the same time, applying all along the way led to my resume being posted on the right site, at the right time, for the right staffing agency to find it to put me into the right position.

I’m immeasurably grateful, and still half in shock that I’ve been given this amazing chance to move forward and face new challenges.

Plus… yeah, I’m really excited that this pay bump means we can probably book a videographer, and while we’ll stay in the same general budget range, we’ll have MUCH less stress meeting that budget. Again, something not everybody has these days when it comes to weddings, and something that I am so, so grateful that we don’t have to worry about right now.

I’m really going to try sticking with this blogging business! Next up, I promise more details about the wedding 🙂

Until then… ❤

2 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. […] floors up and a mile high in Denver, helping my company transition another employee into my role. My last day is on Friday, and I’ve never been more terrified in my entire life. Well, maybe one or two other […]

Leave a Reply

