Our house – shaping up!

Now that we’ve finally had people over, I was able to get the house in order – at least more so than it was – and get some pictures up! This is  a basic shot of our living room – built-ins original to the house, IKEA Lack Tables off Craigslist, IKEA Ektorp sofa (since my couch kind of fell apart while we were moving), IKEA Expedit bookcase, IKEA Orgel floor lamp… uh, yeah you get the point. I’m planning a green area rug here.

My grandparents’ wedding photo, photos collected over the years from magazines in thrift store frames, a few record albums, a thrift store bowl, a little baby shower party favor candle.

CD covers cut down to size slightly in $1 bin Target frames, ION record player (just need speakers), years-old Target lamp, shell from our back alley, my Valentine’s Day gift this year to J, a lantern my friend A picked up for me at a thrift store, spray painted white.

I bought this rusted-out magazine rack at a flea market in Oldsmar about three or four years ago and spray painted it white. It so far has gone well with every decor – even now in this cute 1950s rancher!

Gold thrifted mirror spray painted white, necklace from The Grass Root restaurant (the owner travels and knows artisans all over, so has a little shop set up along one wall), a thrifted vintage candy jar, one of J’s favorite pieces of wall art 🙂 – all atop a TV stand that our friends were throwing out to make more space for their soon-to-be daughter!

A close-up of the wall above our television. This wall is mostly secondhand art and vintage greeting cards. The clock was a Goodwill find. The haunting painting of the girl I bought at an antique mall in Palmetto.

Our dining room 🙂 All the wall colors came this way, by the way! I bought the dining room table for $30 off Craigslist – it has a leaf to extend it and came with an oak top, maple legs, and veneer apron, so I stained the top Jacobean and painted the legs and apron white. It’s the same white paint as is on the chairs, boring pine chairs I bought off a college student for about $20 for four. I covered the seats with fabric from IKEA.

I love our built-in dining room hutch – and particularly love this shelf. Target vase, thrifted bird knock knack and silver coin bank, dishes from my grandmother, carved hearts – J’s 1st anniversary present to me 🙂

Part of our office/front room. We think this was a lanai or car port at one point that became attached to the house. The rest isn’t much to look at – just mud room space and computer wires – but this hanging is one of J’s favorite things! The bookcase is from Target. There used to be two, but one was damaged in moving. Once I find a good drafting table on Craigslist, I’d like to partially use this as my drawing/project room  also 🙂

A little array of collected boxes we use for office storage – push pins, binder clips, paper clips. The top left box I recently found at a rummage sale for 25 cents. The top right my friend E brought me from India years ago, and the bottom dish came from  a small secondhand store in Ybor.

I tend to get a lot of compliments on this! This chair used to be my grandmothers and was all chipped wood. I painted it turquoise and covered the gross vinyl seat with a thrifted scarf and clear PVC. I kind of like how the paint has worn and chipped in the years since I painted it (I didn’t exactly varnish or seal it – but I think it’s charming :))

A little nook in our hallway, filled with an antique deacon’s bench my parents bought about 20 years ago from a dealer in Tulsa, and the guitar I haven’t picked up in about a year.

Another of my favorite areas of the house. This shelf was there – I picked up the owl embroidery at a Clearwater resale shop. The candy dish was my grandfather’s. The vase is thrifted, and I bought the fake berry sprig at Michael’s. I just bought the blue painting at a Salvation Army down the street for $5.99!

The Target Dwell studio bath mat in our 1950s bathroom with 1980s brass fixtures. Urgh. But it’s got a cute window in the shower – bonus light!

My dad’s fiancee gave us this dresser, along with a taller one, when she moved out of her house. This was her parent’s wedding set! It’s solid wood – such a score and free! She started to paint it, but I’ll just strip that off soon enough and shouldn’t have to stain it over. Just  a little sealing should work. The mirror came with it and rather than hang it I just leaned it up.

A little close up – some sweet smelling candles from Target, a little kitchen dish from Target that holds my rings and little bracelets, and a thrifted vintage leaf bowl that holds my obviously growing bangle collection.

And our bed shot! Not very well styled, but the green blanket is there to protect the white Target comforter (a knock off of one of my favorite West Elm pieces of all time) from our black-and-white cat, who loves to lay on the bed. The bedside tables were acquired at separate times from secondhand stores and painted with the same turquoise paint I used on the living room chair. Note how my side is pretty spotless – a lamp, alarm clock, some books on the bottom shelf – and how the other side is J’s 🙂 Just bought the rug at IKEA for like $30.

So that’s most of our house! There’s a guest bedroom that’s holding items we haven’t found a home for yet, but once we buy a bigger bed, we’ll be moving the current into that room and working on getting that in order. We were preparing for a housewarming bbq when I took these shots, so there’s nothing of the kitchen, and it was dark out so nothing of the yard. Maybe later!

Leave a Reply

